Home > Science and Faith > Choice

Choice

“When I die, I’m going to ask God….”

Actually, when you die and come face to face with God, you will be unable to speak.  You will ask Him nothing.  You will just fall to the ground in abject terror and mouth the words,
“Woe is me! Woe is me!  For I have sinned greatly,”
but not a sound will emerge from your mouth until God says, “Speak!”

We know this to be true from the Biblical accounts of godly people who have experienced God in His glory.  It is unimaginable how much more terrifying it will be for the ungodly! 

Listen to the words of Isaiah the prophet:

In the year that King Uzziah died I saw the Lord sitting upon a throne, high and lifted up; and the train of his robe filled the temple. …  And I said:
“Woe is me! For I am lost; for I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips; for my eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts!”  (Isa 6:1-5)

Next consider what happened to the Apostle Peter when he first recognized Jesus’ true identity.  (Peter had just experienced Jesus teaching from a boat and performing a miracle in the lake of Gennesaret:

…they enclosed a large number of fish, and their nets were breaking. They signaled to their partners in the other boat to come and help them. And they came and filled both the boats, so that they began to sink.
But when Simon Peter saw it, he fell down at Jesus’ knees, saying, “Depart from me, for I am a sinful man, O Lord.” (Luk 5:6-8)

Or hear the Apostle John’s reaction when he merely had a vision of the risen Christ in Heaven:

Then I turned to see the voice that was speaking to me, and on turning I saw seven golden lampstands, and in the midst of the lampstands one like a son of man, …
When I saw him, I fell at his feet as though dead. But he laid his right hand on me, saying, “Fear not, I am the first and the last, and the living one. I died, and behold I am alive forevermore, and I have the keys of Death and Hades. (Rev 1:12-18)

Nothing sinful can exist in God’s presence; God’s fiery presence will simply consume it.  Therefore a sinful person will want to leave His presence and hide, just as Adam and Eve hid after they sinned.

There is only one place one can go to “hide” from God:  in Hell.  All people – being sinful – will actually prefer the tortures of Hell to being in the presence of God in Heaven until God first cleanses a person of his sins through the blood of Christ Jesus and then personally invites that individual into His presence through an intimate personal relationship with Christ Jesus.  But I digress…

If you’re a Christian, you may think you can plead for forgiveness of your sins through the blood of Jesus, but He may still say to you,

‘I never knew you; depart from me, you workers of lawlessness.’ ( Mat 7:21-23)

How can that be?  No one who fancies himself a Christian wants to hear those terrible words of condemnation from Christ Jesus.  Nevertheless it could happen – a person can deceive himself to believe a falsehood – because every man’s heart is wicked and deceitful above all things:

The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately sick; who can understand it?   (Jer 17:9)

Christian, your heart could be deceiving you even about your own salvation.  Don’t be so smug in your hypocrisy; don’t be so sure of your salvation without confirmation.  You can be sure of your salvation only by the fruits of your faith.  Again I digress…

Jesus actually provides a definitive explanation of how and why He might utter those terrible words of condemnation to a nominal Christian:

“When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, then he will sit on his glorious throne. Before him will be gathered all the nations, and he will separate people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. And he will place the sheep on his right, but the goats on the left.

“Then he will say to those on his left,
‘Depart from me, you cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels.  For I was hungry and you gave me no food, I was thirsty and you gave me no drink, I was a stranger and you did not welcome me, naked and you did not clothe me, sick and in prison and you did not visit me.’

Then they also will answer, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison, and did not minister to you?’

Then he will answer them, saying, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did not do it to one of the least of these, you did not do it to me.’

And these will go away into eternal punishment, but the righteous into eternal life.” (Mat 25:31-46)

So, Christian, beware!  Do not forget “the least of these.”

Who are they?  They are not the poor and needy; they are not the sick and disabled; they are not the homeless; nor are they the ones in prison.  Yes, all these people are desperate, needy, and deserving of our ministry and support, but they all have legal recognition, protection, and care.

However there is one group of people even more vulnerable, more dependent, and more needy than all others:  They are the unborn people, the ones in America with absolutely no rights, the ones who live in the wombs, the ones whose very life is not even recognized by the courts.

When I stand before Jesus, He will ask me,
“And what did you do for the least of these?  What did you do for the unborn slaughtered in America?”
I don’t want to be left speechless.

If the plight of the unborn does not touch your heart;
If the plight of the unborn does not move you to tears;
If the plight of the unborn does not compel you to action,
Then you need to look in the mirror and also have a heart-to-heart talk with Jesus Christ.

All people have a choice – except the unborn.
All people must make a choice that will affect their eternal destiny.

Have you chosen wisely?
What have you done for the “least of these”?
What have you done for the unborn being slaughtered in America?
Or is your heart deceiving you?

For all is not as it looks!

(1015)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

