Home > Science and Faith > The Favorite Uncle

The Favorite Uncle

Do you have fond memories of spending time as a small child with that special person such as your favorite uncle or aunt, your grandma or grandpa?
Do you remember playing with them – perhaps playing ball, or cooking, or exploring in the woods – doing something special that you did with no one else?
Do you remember the special name you had for that favorite person, and the special name he had for you?
Do you remember looking forward to those days, wanting to be with them, savoring every moment – and then the sadness of the parting, the tears?
That, my dear friends, is a taste of Heaven here on earth.

Do you remember being taunted and bullied?
Do you remember someone doing something unspeakably evil to you?
Do you remember the sadness of losing a loved one?
Do you remember the injustice of being blamed for something you didn’t do?
That, my dear friends, is a taste of Hell here on earth.

We were placed here on earth for a purpose:  To choose in full knowledge where we want to spend eternity.  And to gain that full knowledge we must first taste – just taste – both options:  Heaven and Hell.  After all, how can we know we like Chinese food and dislike Mexican food until we’ve tasted both?  Just as we first must take a small bite-sized taste of both Chinese food and Mexican food to decide, we are given small bite-sized tastes of our two choices – highly diluted at that.  Even then the options make a powerful impression on us.

Now imagine spending forever with your favorite person.  Imagine how delightful that would be:
Basking in his presence.
Rejoicing at the sound of her voice.
Heart skipping a beat at his approaching footsteps.
Eyes locked in rapt wonder and attention.

That, my dear friends, is nothing compared to how it will feel spending eternity with our Creator!  Words escape me; I can only imagine.  I can imagine being immersed in – consumed by – something a thousand times better than all those feelings of carefree peace and joy I felt as a child visiting my Grandmother’s house, playing, shopping, reading stories, and so on.  That is the full taste of Heaven, and more!  What we experience here on earth is but a crumb; there we will experience the whole pie!

Now remember this, my friends.  The same thing holds true for Hell.  Imagine your worst nightmares, your greatest fears, your most awful pains.  Imagine life bereft of all hope and joy, filled with pain and anguish.  Again words escape me; I can’t even imagine.  I don’t even want to imagine the horror of spending eternity in Hell.

So choose wisely, my dear friends, for you must choose. 
You were placed here for a purpose:  To choose in full knowledge where you want to spend eternity.

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. (Joh 14:6)
So everyone who acknowledges me before men, I also will acknowledge before my Father who is in heaven, but whoever denies me before men, I also will deny before my Father who is in heaven. (Mat 10:32-33)

You have heard.  You have seen.  You have felt.  You have been warned.
You have full knowledge, and you are making your choice today with every thought, word, and deed – whether you realize it or not.
Choose Christ Jesus now, for you must fulfill your mission on earth:  You must choose where you will to spend eternity.

“No one would knowingly choose to spend eternity in Hell,”  you say?  Not so.
Think of it this way:  If one had to spend eternity locked in a room alone with one’s most hated enemy, that would be Hell for that person, no matter how comfortable the room.  So, spending eternity in Heaven in unfiltered intimacy and oneness with Jesus Christ would be utter Hell for anyone who does not love Jesus;[1] separation from Jesus in Hell would be preferable – the proverbial “least of two evils” for such a person.  A choice is required; there is no middle ground, there is no third option.  One must either totally accept and love Jesus or totally reject and hate Him. – and that choice determines one’s eternal dwelling place.  Lukewarm Jesus does not allow; lukewarm is equivalent to rejection:

So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will vomit you out of my mouth.  (Rev 3:16)

Sadly many will find oneness with Jesus so abhorrent that they will choose the anguish of Hell over the Hell of life in Heaven with Jesus, even after tasting.

All is not as it looks

(1007)

 


[1] Jesus hints to the existence of such an unimaginably intimate relationship when He states in His farewell address in John 14:20: “…you will know that I am in my Father, and you in me, and I in you.”

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

