Home > Science and Faith > Not Aborted

Not Aborted

A mother with two beautiful, cheerful little girls, about 9 and 7, confided her personal story to me:

When I was pregnant with my first daughter, the doctors encouraged me to get an abortion. They told me that my daughter had Downs syndrome. That her abdomen was malformed and punctured. That she would live life as a vegetable. That she could not possibly survive, and an abortion is the only realistic option. And so on.

They would call and relentlessly try to convince me to have an abortion. With each call they painted an ever more depressing and painful picture of my child’s life and my life if I didn’t abort.

They even enlisted the help of my husband. The pressure was intense.
My husband and I kept praying to Jesus about this matter. He kept telling us “Don’t do it. Please don’t!”

Finally the last legal day for aborting passed, but the pressure from the doctors remained.
Now it was more like, “You’ll see, I told you so.”
Nevertheless I proceeded with the pregnancy to term.

Then she pointed to her older daughter and said proudly,
“Look at her! Isn’t she beautiful?
She is so artistic and creative! She loves to sing and paint.
All that’s wrong with her is that she’s left handed.”

All is not as it looks!

[Names were withheld in the interest of privacy protection.]

(992)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

