Home > World Views > Messages: Shades of Gray

Messages: Shades of Gray

This is the second post of this series.  The posts form a single coherent unit intended to be read in its entirety.  The series consists of the following inspirations received under similar circumstances over a period of years:

Whereas the poem “Jihad” is a declaration of war, “Shades of Gray” below describes the target of the Jihadist:  The confused modern American totally focused on personal success in his personal world.  The stark  and shocking contrast between the two set the stage for 9-11 just a few weeks later.

Shades of Gray (The New American)
Written August 1, 2001

My world is composed of shades of gray,
Anything I do is OK,
It doesn’t matter what I do or say,
Everything’s just shades of gray.

No such thing as right or wrong,
My Teflon armor makes me strong,
I will do anything to get along,
Everything’s just shades of gray.

Everything has a flip side,
Behind fine distinctions I will hide,
Which is right I won’t decide,
Everything’s just shades of gray.

Personal gain is my only score,
I crave winning, more, more, more!
My soul for money I will whore,
Everything’s just shades of gray.

The beauty of a rainbow I cannot see,
It’s all one color, seems to me,
All I want is utility,
Everything’s just shades of gray.

There are no truths, there are no lies;
My entire life is just a compromise,
To sin and guilt I close my eyes,
Everything’s just shades of gray.

Life is just a game, I say;
Rules don’t matter – or they may,
I can explain it all away,
Everything’s just shades of gray.

I do not care for commitment,
I always do what’s expedient,
Morals are just an impediment,
Everything’s just shades of gray.

Conviction I find impossible,
Value judgments my game will hobble,
Because to me anything’s probable,
Everything’s just shades of gray.

My world is composed of shades of gray.
There are no bounds on what I do or say.
My soul is empty, my heart is clay,
Everything’s just shades of gray.

So I live my life from day to day,
Just drifting along, feeling OK.
Why am I so unhappy today?
Everything’s just shades of gray!

(104)

Read Next:  Message to America

Categories: World Views Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

