Home > Political, Social > Speaking the Truth

Speaking the Truth

You don’t have to agree with me.
You don’t have to like or love me.
All I ask is that you hear me out
And not shut the words up before they exit my mouth.

You always, always have the option to tune me out,
To ignore or walk away from me,
To argue with me,
To mock and ridicule me.

But here in America
You never had and never will have the right
To muzzle me, to silence me,
To kill me.

[This was written two years ago.
I wonder if the last stanza is still true today.]

(547)

©notasitlooks 2010

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

